Sen. President Lawan appoints Sen. Abaribe, into Senate Committee on Security Challenges


The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has appointed Senator Enyinaya Abaribe into the Senate ad-hoc committee on the current security architecture of the country. The committee was inaugurated by the Senate President on Tuesday.

Senate President Lawan, inaugurating the committee in Abuja, mandated the 18 members to recommend ways to improve the nation’s present security situation.

The appointment and inauguration of the Senate ad hoc committee on security challenges in the country, were done one week after Senator Abaribe called on President Muhammadu Buhari to resign over failure to guarantee security in the country. The call was made at the Senate plenary which was devoted to deliberations on the security situation in the country. The resolution was made at the plenary to set up a committee on ‘Nigerian Security Challenges: Urgent Need To Restructure, Review and Reorganise the Current Security Architecture.’

The Senate President urged the committee members to be rigorous in their assignment in order to “deepen the understanding of the nature of the security crisis.”

He told the committee members to have a realistic assessment of the problem and proffer workable solution, noting that the Constitution guarantees protection of the life and property of every Nigerian and the government’s commitment to upholding same.

“It is well known that Security Sector Governance (SSG) aims at elaborating rules that set standards for state and human security by applying the principle of good governance to the security sector.

“The Legislature also further seeks a Security Sector Reform (SSR) that will transform the security sector and assign roles and responsibilities in a manner that is consistent with democratic norms and the principles of good governance.

“These principles include respect for the rule of law, transparency, accountability, and public tr According to the Senate President, Nigeria must initiate the process to formulate or re-orient the policies, structures, and capacities of institutions and groups engaged in the security sector,” Senate President Lawan had declared.

Lawan also appealed to the security agencies not to hoard information but provide all necessary cooperation for the committee to discharge its duties effectively.

“We don’t want a situation where security agencies will hoard information from us. What we are trying to do is to support our security agencies to function optimally,” he said.

Chairman of the committee, the Senate Leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi, assured that despite the challenges of limited time and funds, the committee would strive to lay the desired solid foundation for peace and security.

Members of the committee include the Senate Minority Leader, Senator Eyinnaya Abaribe; Senate Deputy Chief Whip, Senator Sabi Abdullahi; Senator Mohammed Ndume, Senator Aliyu Wammako, Senator Dauda Jike, Senator Kashim Shettima, Senator Ibn Na’Allah, Senator George Sekibo, and Senator Ibrahim Gobir.

Others include Senator Suleiman Kwari, Senator Kabiru Gaya, Senator Gershom Bassey, Senator Stella Oduah, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, Senator Abba Moro, Senator Abubakar Yusuf, and Senator Abdullahi Adamu.SENATOR


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here